Audience Reactions

2018/2019 Film Season

After each film screened, we invite members of the audience for their feedback. We analyse this feedback and calculate an "audience reaction score" for each film. This feedback provides us with valuable information on how well the committee are doing with film selection.

These are the scores awarded by the audience on the Reaction Sheets after each showing

Audience Reaction -
2018/2019 Film Season
Date Title Excellent Good Fair Poor Awful Rating %
Mon 17 / Tues 18 Sept Lady Bird 20 48 30 3 0 71%
Mon 24 / Tues 25 Sept Happy End 5 21 23 11 23 41.6%
Mon 15 / Tues 16 Oct Film Stars Don’t Die in Liverpool 33 44 13 2 0 79.3%
Mon 29 / Tues 30 Oct Loveless 11 42 17 2 0 71.5%
Mon 5 / Tues 6 Nov Journey’s End 60 22 5 0 0 90.8%
Mon 19 / Tues 20 Nov A Man Called Ove 74 30 4 0 0 91.2%
Mon 10 / Tues 11 Dec Cycling with Molière 19 67 18 0 0 75.2%
Mon 17 Dec Loving Vincent 58 12 6 0 0 92.1%
Mon 7 / Tues 8 Jan Churchill 33 56 8 1 0 80.9%
Mon 21 / Tues 22 Jan Harmonium 0 41 18 2 0 66.0%
Mon 4 / Tues 5 Feb The Death of Stalin 23 44 16 1 6 71.4%
Mon 18 / Tues 19 Feb The Hundred-Year Old Man ... 73 32 2 0 0 91.6%
Mon 4 Mar / Tues 5 Mar Beast 21 52 17 1 1 74.7%
Mon 18 / Tues 19 Mar The Other Side of Hope 14 56 20 0 0 73.3%
Mon 1 / Tues 2 Apr Faces Places 50 28 1 1 0 89.7%
Mon 15 / Tues 16 Apr Frantz 57 22 2 0 0 92.0%
Mon 29 / Tues 30 Apr Call Me By Your Name

The overall rating for each film is calculated by applying the following weightings to the audience's responses: Excellent - 1; Good - 0.75; Fair - 0.5; Poor - 0.25; and Awful - 0. The sum of the weighted scores is then expressed as a percentage of the total number of responses.

Audience reaction scores for last year may be found on the following page:
Last Season's Audience Reactions